Introduction
These are the general configurations of the Platform that do not fall under any other category.
These configurations can be found from the sidebar menu, under Administration > System, in three pages: General, Documentation and SMTP.
General > Platform Version
Displays the version of the Platform currently installed. It is read-only, and it is useful to know which features and fixes are available when you contact support.
General > Platform Title
Defines the global application title visible in the browser tab and as the homepage title.
By default the title is the name of the product, but you can set it differently if you want the Platform to appear by a different name; this is particularly appropriate when a custom branding and logo is applied to the Platform.
Must contain at least 3 characters.
Steps:
Navigate to Administration > System > General.
Scroll to the Information section.
Under Platform Title write the desired title.
Click Save.
General > Preferred Default Language
Sets the primary language used across the Platform interface for unauthenticated users and logged in users who have not selected a personal preference.
Steps:
Navigate to Administration > System > General.
Scroll to the Information section.
Under Default Language select the desired language.
Click Save.
NOTE: Each user can choose their own language in their profile preferences. The default language applies only to users who have not made this choice.
General > Cookie Content
Configures the legal disclaimer text displayed within the cookie consent modal window upon a user's first visit. It's possible to customize the message, insert links or add important information.
The text cannot be empty.
NOTE: In case of a branded or local setup, make sure the message conforms to company guidelines for cookie policies.
Steps:
Navigate to Administration > System > General.
In the Privacy Settings section edit the cookie content in the textbox.
Click Save.
General > Username Configuration
This setting defines how each user sees their username in the user info side section. You may decide to hide or show the username, or alternatively display the email directly.
Steps:
Navigate to Administration > System > General.
In the Account Settings section edit the selection under the Username Configuration label.
Click Save.
General > Invitation Expiration
On the Platform users can join through an invitation. This invitation can have an expiration time after which a sent invitation is considered expired and its link becomes invalid. The time window for the expiration can be configured in days.
NOTE: Changing this setting does not retroactively change the expiration dates of previous invitations.
HINT: A reminder notification can be sent to invited users before their invitation expires (by default 3 days before). See chapter Notifications.
Steps:
Navigate to Administration > System > General.
In the Account Settings section edit the value under the Invitation Expiration Days label.
Click Save.
Documentation - Document Versions
For global Documents, it's possible to have multiple versions of the document (and its pages). (Documentation of digital products is instead versioned with the digital products themselves.) These versions allow users managing the documents to restore a previous version of a document.
Administrators may configure whether to limit the number of versions to retain of all global documents. When enabled, the system enforces a specific cap on the number of historical versions retained for each document. It's mandatory to define the exact limit of documentation versions that can be stored concurrently.
NOTE: This configuration is non-retroactive; the new limits apply only to versions generated after the configuration update.
NOTE2: The value for maximum number of versions must be greater than 0 and less than 100.
Steps:
Navigate to Administration > System > Documentation.
Enable/Disable the Enable Versions Limit property.
If enabled: edit the Maximum Number of Stored Versions desired.
Click Save.
SMTP
These settings are required to enable the Platform to send emails to users. If either mail notifications or user self-registration are required, you will need to configure these parameters.
In case the Platform is provided as a managed service (SaaS), these settings shall be already set, however it is prudent to confirm whitelisting of the Platform's mail from your mail provider.
In case of a local deployment these settings need to be customized to point to the correct mail server of your company. If you are unsure of these settings contact your infrastructure administrator.
These settings include:
Server Host (required): the SMTP server host name (domain or IP address).
Server Port (required): the SMTP server port, a value between 1 and 65535.
Username (required): the username used to authenticate and access the SMTP server.
Password: the password for the SMTP server. It must be at least 8 characters long and contain at least one uppercase letter. A new value overwrites the stored one.
Server SMTP Protocol (required): choose between SMTP or SMTPS. SMTPS is recommended for secure transmission.
Enable SSL Protocol: enables the SSL protocol for the connection to the SMTP server. It is recommended, to encrypt the communication and protect the credentials.
Steps:
Navigate to Administration > System > SMTP.
Edit the settings according to your infrastructure.
Click Save.
IMPACT: Without valid SMTP settings, email notifications, invitations and self-registration emails cannot be delivered.